The CRM2 (Cristallographie, Résonance Magnétique et Modélisations) laboratory is an interdisciplinary UMR between CNRS and Université de Lorraine (UL). For CNRS, it is linked to the Institut de Physique (section 5) and to the Institut de Chimie (section 13). For UL it belongs to the scientific Pôle “Chimie et Physique Moléculaire” (CPM). As a consequence of its interdisciplinary research, the university professors teach at the physics, chemistry, earth sciences and life sciences departments (sections 28, 31, 32, 33, 64 and 85 of the CNU). The UMR is in charge of the X-ray and NMR facilities used by UL researchers and other national and international groups, as well as industrial partners.

Research

The main scientific aim is to to develop original and complementary methods and instruments for the study of the structure and dynamics of molecular and biomolecular materials in order to understand structure-property and structure-function relationships.

Crystallography, X-ray and NMR/NQR methods and instrumentation, electron density modeling, diffraction under constraints (light, pressure, electric field) are developed together with applications in:

  • Material science (e.g. photosensitive functional materials, low dimensional materials, multiferroic materials, porous materials, molecular materials…)
  • Physics (phase transitions, molecular magnetism, piezoelectricity, …)
  • Chemistry (Chemical bonding, metal-ligand, macromolecule-ligands, weak intermolecular interactions, crystal engineering, …)
  • Life sciences (enzymes, detoxification, xenobiotics, secondary metabolites, reaction intermediates, protein-ligand, protein-protein and protein-DNA interactions, molecular recognition, molecular modelling, …)

These objectives will be tackled within and by collaboration between the three research teams

The laboratory members develop and operate the two experimental platforms (services communs) of X-ray diffraction and NMR of the Institut Jean Barriol.

CRM2 has participated in the promotion and is now implicated in the operation of the beamline “Cristal” at the synchrotron SOLEIL (P. Fertey). The laboratory interacts also with the neutron diffraction groups at LLB (F. Porcher).

Teaching

CRM2 is highly involved in teaching at all levels. We organise regularly national (CNRS) and international schools on crystallography and offer training to research engineers and doctoral students of other laboratories.
At the University of Lorraine the members of CRM2 teach at the Faculty of Sciences and Technologies in the bachelor and master courses in physics, chemistry, life sciences, and earth sciences.

Le CRM2, Laboratoire de Cristallographie, Résonance Magnétique et Modélisations, UMR CNRS 7036, est un laboratoire de recherche interdisciplinaire associé à l’Université de Lorraine (Pôle scientifique « Chimie et Physique Moléculaire ») et au CNRS (Institut de Physique et Institut de Chimie). Les membres du laboratoire enseignent dans les disciplines de physique, chimie, sciences de la vie et de la terre (sections 28, 31, 32, 33, 64 et 85 du CNU). Le CRM2 est en charge de deux plateformes de diffraction de rayons X (DRX) et de Résonance Magnétique Nucléaire (RMN).

Recherche

La mission principale du laboratoire est le développement de méthodes et instrumentation originale pour l’étude de la structure et dynamique de matériaux moléculaire et biomoléculaire afin de comprendre les relations structure-propriétés et structure-fonctions.

Cristallographie, Méthodes et instrumentation en DRX et RMN/RQN, modèles de la densité électronique, diffraction sous contraintes (lumière, pression, champ electrique) sont développés en vue d’applications dans :

  • Sciences des matériaux (p.ex. matériaux fonctionnels photosensibles, matériaux de basse dimensions, matériaux multiferroiques, matériaux poreux, matériaux moléculaires …)
  • Physique (transitions de phase, magnétisme moléculaire, piézoélectricité, …)
  • Chimie (liaisons chimiques, métal-ligand, macromolécule-ligands, interactions intermoléculaires faibles, ingénierie cristalline, …)
  • Sciences de la vie (enzymes, détoxication, xénobiotiques, métabolites secondaires, intermédiaires réactionnels, interactions protéine-ligand, protéine-protéine et protéine-ADN, reconnaissance moléculaire, modélisation moléculaire , …)

La réalisation de ces objectifs sera menée à bien grâce à la collaboration entre les trois équipes du laboratoire :

logo_rmn_small_50  Méthodologie RMN   (RMN)

Le personnel du laboratoire développe et opère les deux plateformes (Services Communs) de l’Institut Jean Barriol.

Le CRM2 a participé à la promotion et est désormais impliqué dans le fonctionnement de la ligne « Cristal » au synchrotron SOLEIL (détachement P. Fertey). Il intéragit également avec les équipes de diffraction de la source de neutrons LLB-Orphée (détachement F. Porcher).

Enseignement

Le laboratoire a une forte implication dans la formation. Ainsi nous organisons régulièrement des écoles nationales (CNRS et autres) et internationales en cristallographie et sommes fortement sollicités par des demandes d’autres laboratoires dont on forme des doctorants ou ingénieurs en cristallographie (niveau IE ou IR).

Les enseignants-chercheurs du CRM2 enseignent à la Faculté des Sciences et Technologies dans les cursus de Licence Physique-Chimie, Science de la Vie et de l’Environnement et Science de la Terre et de l’Environnement et dans les cursus de Master Physique et Chimie.