Crystallography and nanocrystallography of switchable materials

  • Design of functional switchable molecular materials and nanomaterials.

Our group has a specific expertise in the study of switchable molecular materials such as photomagnetic bistable materials (e.g. spin crossover), photochromic linkage isomers (e.g. ML5Z ; Z = NO, NO2, SO2, N2), and piezoelectric materials. We focus our attention on the structure-properties relationship of such materials in various forms : single crystals, nanoparticles, and nanocomposites that we design and elaborate. Nancomposites are based on photoactive molecules or nanocrystals confined in porous silica matrices and nanostructured ordered porous thin films, which could be attractive for the development of new molecule based sensors.

Durand2013Room temperature bistability with wide thermal hysteresis in a spin crossover silica nanocomposite. Durand et al., J. Mater. Chem. C, 1 (2013), 1901-2070.

Nanocomposites have been processed by confined growth of nanoparticles of the spin crossover complex [Fe(Htrz)2(trz)](BF4) within pre-formed transparent mesoporous silica monoliths of well controlled porosity. Monodisperse spherical nanoparticles of mean diameter 3.2(5) nm, homogeneously distributed within the pores of the silica monolith were achieved, whose spin transition behaviour exhibits a room temperature bistability and 65 K wide hysteresis.

 

  • Development of crystallographic approaches for space- and time-resolved structural analysis.

We have developed a laboratory diffraction instrument for millisecond time-resolved experiments under in situ optical excitation in a pump-probe approach. The instrument is based on a 4-circle X-ray diffractometer equipped with a microfocus X-ray source and a hybrid pixel X-ray detector (XPAD). The detector is synchronized to the output of a Nd-YAG ns pump pulsed laser equipped with an optical parametric oscillator (400nm<λ<700nm). The experiment is further coupled to a transient optical absorption measurement, so that the x-ray diffraction and optical absorption measurements can be run in parallel on the very same single crystal sample. Henthforce, the optical and structural signature of photo-excited metastable states can be obtained in the ms time scale. photocristallo
(left) schematic of the experiment. (right) experimental setup.

 

  • Structure / property relationship of switchable materials.

The structure-property relationship of switchable materials involves several important aspects that we are investigating using various approaches. Nanomaterials are investigated in order to probe the structural response to size reduction, to understand the physics of thermally induced and photo-induced phase transitions in nanoscale systems. Specific attention are attached on several crucial structural aspects, such as changes of lattice symmetry, lattice expansion, strain and lattice distortion, as well as surface relaxation. Detailed information on the size dependence of the order parameters, critical behaviour, structural fluctuations, coherence length, are specifically studied. We focus our attention on nistrosyl coordination complexes, and spin transition materials.

pillet2012Multimetastability, phototrapping, and thermal trapping of a metastable commensurate superstructure in a FeIIspin-crossover compound. Pillet et al., Phys. Rev. B, 86 (2012), 064106.

The photoinduced switching and relaxation regime of the two-step spin-crossover compound [Fe(bapbpy)(NCS)2] has been investigated by time-dependent photo-crystallography. The relaxation from the metastable HS state proceeds in two steps associated with two symmetry breaking processes associated to an intermediate superstructure, characterized by a long-range-ordered [HS-LS-LS] motif coupled to a commensurate displacive modulation.

Chakraborty2013Light induced bistability in the 2D coordination network {[Fe(bbtr)3](BF4)2}: wavelength-selective addressing of molecular spin states. Chakraborty et al., Chem. Eur. J., 19 (2013), 11418-11428.

In the covalently linked 2D coordination network of {[Fe(bbtr)3](BF4)2}¥, FeII stays in the high-spin state down to 10 K. However, strong cooperative effects of elastic origin result in reversible, persistent, and wavelength-selective photoswitching between the low-spin and high-spin manifolds. This compound thus shows true light-induced bistability below 100 K.

schaniel2013Unraveling the mechanism of NO ligand photoisomerism by time-resolved infrared spectroscopy. Gallé et al. Chem. Phys. Lett., 552 (2013), 64-68.

Femtosecond time-resolved infrared spectroscopy demonstrate that the photoisomerization of the NO ligand in a Na2[Fe(CN)5NO].2H2O single crystal occurs in about 350 fs. The optical excitation leads to an excited state from which the rapid transition into MS2 and GS occurs within 300 fs due to vibronic coupling. The rotation of the NO ligand either to 90° or back to 0° proceeds with this time constant. After these fast (~300 fs) transitions the vibrational–rotational thermalization to the GS and MS2 potential minima occurs within a few picoseconds.

dinitrosyl1Photocrystallography and IR-spectroscopy of light-induced linkage NO isomers in [RuBr(NO)2(PCyp3)2]BF4. Casaretto et al. Acta Cryst.., B71 (2015), 788-797.

One single photo-induced linkage NO isomer (PLI) is detected and characterized in the dinitrosyl pentacoordinated compound [RuBr(NO)2(PCyp3)2]BF4 by a combination of photocrystallographic and infrared (IR) analysis. In the ground state, the molecule adopts a trigonal-bipyramidal structure with the two NO ligands almost linear. After light irradiation of 405 nm at T = 10 K, a metastable state is formed, characterized by the rotation of one single nitrosyl ligand towards the Br atom, forming a bent κN bonded configuration. A clear signature of the formed metastable state is provided by infrared spectroscopy under irradiation. The experimental results are further supported by DFT calculations.

dinitrosyl2Multiple light-induced NO linkage isomers in the dinitrosyl complex [RuCl(NO)2(PPh3)2]BF4 unraveled by photocrystallographic and infrared analysis. Casaretto et al. IUCr J, 2 (2015), 35-44.

Three light-induced reversible metastable NO linkage isomers are detected in the dinitrosyl compound [RuCl(NO)2(PPh3)2]BF4 by a combination of photocrystallographic and infrared analysis. The IR signature for each of the three PLI states has been clearly identified. The photocrystallographic analysis indicates a selectivity of the photo-isomerisation process, only one of the two NO ligands—the bent NO—changes its position, while the linear NO is unaffected. After irradiation with 405 nm, the orientation is changed by rotation towards the Cl ligand in opposite to the linear NO, with an isonitrosyl Ru-O-N binding mode.

 

  • Nanocristallographie

The structural determination and analysis of nanoscale objects and nanocomposites is a very delicate task. For that purpose, we use a combination of total X-ray scattering methods with pair distribution function (PDF) analysis, and solid state NMR, which provide the structural organisation with atomic resolution and dynamics informations.

PDF-RMN2Structure determination of molecular
nanocomposites by combining pair distribution function analysis and solid-state NMR.
Hsieh et al. RSC Adv., 3 (2013), 26132.

High energy X-ray total scattering with atomic pair distribution function analysis (PDF), together coupled to Solid State NMR techniques, allowed to investigate the structural properties of isolated Sodium nitroprusside (SNP) molecules incorporated in the 1nm nanopores of mesoporous silica matrices. The atomic PDF shows that the SNP complexes are embedded in the form of isolated molecules inside the matrix pores. 29Si MAS NMR measurements show that the gel matrix structure is not modified by the SNP embedding procedure. 13C and 23Na MAS NMR measurements show that inside the matrix pores the SNP neither takes a crystalline like structure nor does it adhere to the pore surface. The confined complex adopts solution like structure and dynamics with isotropic reorientation below the μs timescale. Subsequent NMR experiments at different relative humidity levels show the presence of weakly interacting water molecules inside the pores.

PDF-RMN1Structure determination of molecular nanocomposites by combining pair distribution function analysis and solid-state NMR. Bendeif et al. RSC Adv., 5 (2015), 8895.

Sodium nitroprusside (SNP) nanocomposites were prepared by embedding SNP molecules in transparent mesoporous silica monoliths of well controlled porosity and narrow pore size distribution around 6 nm. The nanocomposites were caracterized by X-ray total scattering coupled to atomic pair distribution function analysis (PDF) and solid-state NMR spectroscopy. The PDF analysis allows the identification of various existing phases: SNP isolated molecules and SNP crystalline nanoparticles with the same molecular structure as the bulk crystalline material. The multi-nuclei Solid State NMR investigation confirms the structural model proposed by the PDF analysis and assigns the isolated molecules to dynamic disorder of a solvated phase.

Cristallographie et nanocristallographie des matériaux commutables

  • conception de matériaux et nanomatériaux moléculaires fonctionnels commutables.

Notre groupe dispose d’une expertise spécifique dans l’étude des matériaux moléculaires commutables, tels que matériaux bistables photomagnétiques (par exemple les matériaux à transition de spin), les matériaux photochromiques photoisomérisables (ML5Z ; Z = NO, NO2, SO2, N2), et les matériaux piezoélectriques. Nous focalisons notre attention sur les relations structure-propriétés d’échantillons sous différentes formes : monocristaux, nanoparticules et nanocomposites que nous concevons et élaborons. Les nanocomposites sont constitués de molécules ou nanocristaux photoactifs confinés dans des matrices de silice mésoporeuse ou des films minces poreux organisés, qui peuvent présenter des applications dans le domaine des capteurs à base moléculaire.

Durand2013Room temperature bistability with wide thermal hysteresis in a spin crossover silica nanocomposite. Durand et al., J. Mater. Chem. C, 1 (2013), 1901-2070.

Des nanocomposites ont été élaborés par croissance confinée de nanoparticules du complexe à transition de spin [Fe(Htrz)2(trz)](BF4) dans des monolithes de silice mésoporeuse transparente de porosité parfaitement contrôlée. Nous avons obtenu des nanoparticules sphériques de diamètre 3.2(5) nm, distribuées de manière homogène au sein des pores de la matrice, dont les propriétés de transition de spin présentent une bistabilité à température ambiante et une hystérèse extrêmement large (65 K).

 

  • Développement d’approches cristallographiques pour l’analyse structurale résolue en temps et spatialement.

Nous avons développé un dispositif de diffraction de laboratoire de type pompe sonde pour les études résolues en temps à l’échelle de la milliseconde sous excitation optique. L’instrument est constitué d’un diffractomètre 4 cercles, équippé d’une microsource de rayons X et d’un détecteur rapide de type pixels hybrides (XPAD). Le détecteur est synchronisé à un laser de pompe Nd-YAG nanoseconde équipé d’un oscillateur paramétrique optique (400nm<λ<700nm). L'expérience est de plus couplée à un dispositif de spectroscopie d'absorption transitoire, de telle manière que les mesures de diffraction et de spectroscopie résolues en temps peuvent être conduites en parallèle sur le même échantillon cristallin. Nous pouvons ainsi suivre la réponse structurale et optique d'états excités métastables à l'échelle de la milliseconde. photocristallo
(gauche) schéma de l’expérience. (droite) setup expérimental.

 

  • Relations structure / propriétés de matériaux commutables.

Les relations structure-propriétés de matériaux commutables impliquent plusieurs aspects importants que nous étudions en suivant différentes approches. Les nanomatériaux sont étudiés dans le but de sonder la réponse structurale à la réduction de taille, pour comprendre la physique des transitions de phase en thermoinduites et photoinduites dans les systèmes nanométriques. Une attention particulière est attachée au changement de symétrie, expansion thermique, contrainte, distorsion de réseau, relaxation de surface. Des informations détaillées sur la dépendance en taille des paramètres d’ordre, du comportement critique, des fluctuations structurales et de la longueur de corrélation sont spécifiquement étudiés. Nous nous focalisons sur les complexes de coordination photoisomérisables, et les matériaux à transition de spin.

pillet2012Multimetastability, phototrapping, and thermal trapping of a metastable commensurate superstructure in a FeIIspin-crossover compound. Pillet et al., Phys. Rev. B, 86 (2012), 064106.

Les régimes de photocommutation et de relaxation du composé à transition de spin en double étape [Fe(bapbpy)(NCS)2] ont été étudiés par photo-cristallographie dépendente du temps. La relaxation de l’état haut spin métastable procède en deux étapes, associées à deux processus de brisure de symétrie liés à la présence d’une phase intermédiaire surstructure, caractérisée par une mise en ordre à longue distance du motif [HS-LS-LS] couplée à une modulation displacive commensurable.

Chakraborty2013Light induced bistability in the 2D coordination network {[Fe(bbtr)3](BF4)2}: wavelength-selective addressing of molecular spin states. Chakraborty et al., Chem. Eur. J., 19 (2013), 11418-11428.

Dans le réseau de coordination 2D {[Fe(bbtr)3](BF4)2}¥, l’ion FeII conserve un état haut spin jusque très basse température (10K). Des effets coopératifs, d’origine élastique, donnent lieu à une photocommutation réversible et sélective en longueur d’onde entre les états haut spin et bas spin à très basse température. Ce composé présente donc une vraie bistabilité photo-induite en dessous de 100K.

schaniel2013Unraveling the mechanism of NO ligand photoisomerism by time-resolved infrared spectroscopy. Gallé et al. Chem. Phys. Lett., 552 (2013), 64-68.

Des mesures de spectroscopie infrarouge femtoseconde nous ont permis de montrer que la photoisomérisation du ligand nitrosyl NO dans un cristal de Na2[Fe(CN)5NO].2H2O se déroule en 350 fs. L’excitation optique induit un un état excité à partir duquel la transition vers l’état MS2 et GS procède en 300 fs due à un couplage vibronique. La rotation du ligand NO soit vers la configuration 90° ou de retour vers l’état fondamental à 0° s’effectue durant cet intervalle de temps. Suite à ces transitions ultra-rapides, la thermalisation vibrationnelle-rotationnelle vers le minimum du potentiel MS2 ou GS s’effectue en quelques picosecondes.

dinitrosyl1Photocrystallography and IR-spectroscopy of light-induced linkage NO isomers in [RuBr(NO)2(PCyp3)2]BF4. Casaretto et al. Acta Cryst.., B71 (2015), 788-797.

Une photoisomérisation photoinduite du ligand nitrosyl NO (PLI) a été détectée et caractérisée dans le composé dinitrosyl pentacoordiné [RuBr(NO)2(PCyp3)2]BF4 par une combinaison d’analyse photocristallographique et spectroscopique infrarouge. Dans l’état fondamental, la molécule adopte une structure bipyramide-trigonale avec les deux ligands NO pratiquement linéaires. Après photoexcitation à 10K avec une longueur d’onde de 405 nm, un état métastable est formé, caractérisé par une rotation d’un seul ligand nitrosyl en direction de l’atome de Br, formant ainsi une configuration coudée κN. Une signature spectrale très claire de l’état métastable est obtenue par la spectroscopie infrarouge après irradiation. Les résultats expérimentaux sont confirmés par calculs DFT.

dinitrosyl2Multiple light-induced NO linkage isomers in the dinitrosyl complex [RuCl(NO)2(PPh3)2]BF4 unraveled by photocrystallographic and infrared analysis. Casaretto et al. IUCr J, 2 (2015), 35-44.

Trois états métastables, isomères de liaisons, ont été détectés pour le composé dinitrosyl [RuCl(NO)2(PPh3)2]BF4 par une combinaison d’études photocristallographiques et spectroscopiques infrarouges. La signature infrarouge de chacun des états a clairement été établie. L’analyse photocristallographic indique une sélectivité du processus de photoisomérisation, seul le ligand nitrosyl coudé change de configuration, tandis que le ligand linéaire semble innocent. Après excitation à 405 nm, l’orientation du ligand NO est modifiée en direction de l’atome de Cl, associé à un mode de coordination isonotrosyl Ru-O-N.

 

  • Nanocristallographie

La détermination structurale et l’analyse d’objets nanométriques et de nanocomposites est une tache relativement délicate. Nous combinons les méthodes de diffusion totale des rayons X et modélisation de la fonction de distribution de paires (PDF) à la RMN du solide pour déduire l’organisation structurale et la dynamique structurale à résolution atomique de tels systèmes.

PDF-RMN2Structure and dynamics of guest molecules confined in a mesoporous silica matrix: Complementary NMR and PDF characterisation. Hsieh et al. RSC Adv., 3 (2013), 26132.

Une étude par diffusion totale des rayons X et analyse de la fonction de distribution de paires a permis de déterminer les propriétés structurales de molécules isolées de nitroprussiate de sodium (SNP) incorporées dans des matrices de silice mésoporeuse de porosité 1 nm. La PDF montre que les molécules de SNP sont isolées dans les pores de la matrice. Des mesures de RMN 29Si montrent que la structure de la matrice n’est pas perturbée par l’incorporation des molécules. Des mesures RMN 13C et 23Na montrent que les molécules de SNP n’adoptent pas une structure cristalline, et n’adhèrent pas à la surface des pores. Le complexe confiné adopte plutôt une structure et une dynamique de type liquide avec une réorientation isotrope de l’ordre de la μs. Des mesures à différents taux d’hydratation montrent la présence d’interactions faibles entre molécules d’eau dans les pores.

PDF-RMN1Structure determination of molecular nanocomposites by combining pair distribution function analysis and solid-state NMR Bendeif et al. RSC Adv., 5 (2015), 8895.

Des nanocomposites de nitroprussiate de sodium (SNP) ont été préparés par confinement de molécules de SNP dans des matrices de silice mésoporeuse de porosité parfaitement contrôlée à 6 nm. Les nanocomposites ont été caractérisés par diffusion totale des rayons X couplée à la modélisation de la fonction de distribution de paires (PDF) et à la spectroscopie RMN. L’analyse PDF permet une identification des différentes phases en présence : molécules de SNP isolées, et nanoparticules cristallines de SNP de structure identique à celle du matériaux massif. LEs etudes par spectroscopie RMN confirment le modèle structural proposé par analyse PDF et indiquent un comportement dynamique des molécules de SNP isolées, associée à une phase solvatée.