Crystal Enginering

Studies on the relative molecular orientations in the crystalline space and their interaction intensities.

cryst-eng1Chalcogen Bonding: Experimental and Theoretical Determinations from Electron Density Analysis. Geometrical Preferences Driven by Electrophilic-Nucleophilic Interactions. Brezgunova et al., Cryst. Growth & Design, 13 (2013), 3283-3289.

The topological analysis of the Laplacian of the electron density ∇2ρ(r) shows that molecular orientation is driven by the interactions between electrophilic and nucleophilic sites found in the external shells of the atoms involved in the intermolecular interactions. Indeed, this analysis indicates that the relative orientation of three chalcogenated molecules that are assembled in the crystal phase by means of weak interactions is induced by the directions of three electrostatic electrophilic-nucleophilic interactions, which parallel the internuclear directions.

cryst-eng14Charge Density Analysis and Topological Properties of Hal3‑Synthons and Their Comparison with Competing Hydrogen Bonds. Brezgunova et al., Cryst. Growth & Design, 12 (2012), 5337-5386.

Trimers based on intermolecular halogen-bonding interactions (Hal3-synthons) have been studied and compared with hydrogen bonds (HBs). The main differences between Cl3 and Br3-synthons are established coming from the particular structure of the valence shell charge concentration region in Cl and Br atoms. Electrophilic−nucleophilic interactions take place within the intermolecular regions of Hal3-synthons by putting face-to-face charge depletion (CD) and charge concentration (CC) regions belonging to the valence shell of the halogen atoms. The electrostatic interaction CD…CC follows the electrophilic and nucleophilic power of these regions and is monitored by the negative Laplacian values normalized to charge density unit (L/ρ) at the corresponding topological critical points (CPs) of the L(r) = -∇2ρ(r) function. According to the topological and energetic properties at CPs of ρ(r) and L(r), it is observed that Hal3-synthons can successfully compete with intermolecular HBs in the analyzed structures.

 

Crystalline environment effects on the intensity and nature of intermolecular interactions.

cryst-eng7Cocrystal or Salt: Solid State-Controlled Iodine Shift in Crystalline Halogen-Bonded Systems. Makhotkina et al., Cryst. Growth & Design, 15 (2015), 3464-3473.

In the crystal phase any intermolecular interaction is modulated through the crystal electric field generated by the molecular environment. This effect can be essential for the modification of the original nature of the interaction, allowing a molecular system to migrate from a neutral towards an anionic state. Whereas, in this context, the transfer of a proton is involved in acid-base reactions taking place in molecular solids, this study shows for the first time that the same effect can be achieved with the transfer of a halogen atom.

cryst-eng8Stabilization of polyiodide chains via anion⋯anion interactions: experiment and theory. Lamberts et al., CrystEngComm, 18 (2016), 3832–3841.

In the crystal structure of tyrosinium polyiodide hydrate, cations and anions aggregate in layers. The anionic part of the structure consists of parallel infinite polyiodide strands; the distance pattern along these chains suggests the presence of smaller subunits I3, I2 and I. Thorough topological analysis carried out with the L = -∇2ρ fonction indicates the successive arrangement of generalized charge concentration and charge depletion sites (for either L > 0 or L < 0 regions) along bond paths, and permits to distinguish iodides from iodine atoms even when they are involved in intermediate situations where interatomic distances and net charges are not conclusive.

 

Crystal Engineering applied to Material Science : The control of electronic properties of charge transfer materials by the intensity control of halogen bonding between cations and anions.

cryst-eng6Charge-Assisted Halogen Bonding: Donor-Acceptor Complexes with Variable Ionicity.
Lieffrig et al., Chem. Eur. J., 19 (2013), 14804–14813.

From the structural and electronic studies on a series of isostructural charge-transfer complexes, it has been demonstrated that the degree of charge transfer and the modulation of the intensity of the halogen bond ensuring the assembly are correlated. In the context of Crystal Engineering applied to Material Science, this correlation demonstrates that the control of the intensity of the interaction allows that of the electronic properties of materials constituted by these complexes.   

 

Influence of molecular environment on the properties of crystalline solids of APIs (Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients).

cryst-eng9Influence of the crystal environment on the molecular properties of ketoprofene. Ben Nasr et al., in preparation.

Ketoprofen is an anti-inflammatory drug that has a very low water solubility, limiting its bioavailability. The design and the solubility measurements of several ketoprofen salts, and particularly of racemic ketoprofen-trometamol and two polymorphs of S-ketoprofen-trometamol, confirm that they have greatly improved the solubility compared to the pure active ingredients. The structures of these salts have shown that they are formed by layers of anionic ketoprofenates between which cationic layers are inserted. The study of the thickness of the anionic layers, and the surface and volume occupied by a ketoprofenate anion in a layer, indicates significant variations between the analyzed salts.

 

The paradox of anionic and cationic aggregates : An electrostatic problem explained in terms of electrophile…nucleophile interactions.

cryst-eng10Electrostatics at the Origin of the Stability of Phosphate-Phosphate Complexes Locked by Hydrogen Bonds. Mata et al., ChemPhysChem, 13 (2012), 1421–1424.

The phosphate–phosphate interaction presents an intrinsic stability thanks to the formation of hydrogen bonds involving a significant sharing of charge. The electrostatics associated to the formed hydrogen bonds are at the origin of the stability of the complex. The large energetic barrier observed in the (H2PO4)2 potential energy surface suggests an important role of interanionic hydrogen bonds in processes involving inter-phosphate aggregation. Thus, once created, the complexes can be stable, prone to survive to changes induced by the environment, either in solution or in solid phase.

 

cryst-eng11Tracing environment effects that influence the stability of anion–anion complexes: The case of phosphate–phosphate interactions. Mata et al., Chemical Physics Letters, 555 (2013), 106–109.

The effect of the environment on the stability of the (H3PO4)2, (H2PO4)2, and (HPO42-)2 hydrogen bonded dimers has been explored. The topological analyses of the electron density and the electrostatic potential indicate that he environment has little effect on the hydrogen-bonding interaction, while it induces a significant one on the Coulombic repulsion of the anions. The interaction energy is represented in terms of hydrogen-bond and non-hydrogen-bond contributions, being only the latter affected by the charge or the environment. While the non-hydrogen bond contribution dominates the interaction energy in the gas phase, it becomes balanced in a polarizable environment.

 

cryst-eng12The Paradox of Hydrogen-Bonded Anion−Anion Aggregates in Oxoanions: A Fundamental Electrostatic Problem Explained in Terms of Electrophilic···Nucleophilic Interactions. Mata et al., J. Phys. Chem. A, 119 (2015), 183-194.

The study of anionic complexes formed by two partly deprotonated oxoacids joined by hydrogen bonds has shown that, in spite of the ionic repulsion, local energy minima are found both in gas phase and in aqueous solution. The topologies of the electrostatic potential and the electron density, as well as the comparison with neutral complexes formed by oxoacids, reveal that the ionization has no significant effect on the properties of the hydrogen bonds. The stability of the complexes in the gas phase is explained by attractive forces localized in a volume situated in the hydrogen bond, which is defined as the electrostatic attraction region (EAR) and is determined by the topological analyses of the electron density and the electrostatic potential, as well as the electric field lines. In solution, the strong anionic repulsion is mostly screened by the effect of the surrounding polar solvent, which only leads to a weak destabilizing interaction in the hydrogen bond region and finally favors the overall stability of the complexes.

 

 

 

cryst-eng13Charged versus Neutral Hydrogen-Bonded Complexes: Is There a Difference in the Nature of the Hydrogen Bonds? Alkorta et al., Chemistry a European Journal, 22 (2016), 9226-9234.

The study of carboxylic acid dimers formed by positively or negatively charged molecules (+2e or -2e), and the corresponding neutral complexes, indicates that no significant differences are found between them. The interaction energy along the dissociation path of the charged dimers shows both a local minimum and a local maximum, defining a stability region in between. When this energetic profile is recalculated by removing the repulsion between the charged groups, it resembles to those of the neutral molecules. The interacting quantum atom (IQA) method shows repulsive electrostatic interactions when the whole molecules are considered in the ionic complexes, but attractive ones between the carboxylic groups in both neutral and ionic complexes. /p>

Ingénierie cristalline

Etudes sur l’orientation relative de molécules dans l’espace cristallin et leurs intensités d’interaction .

cryst-eng1Chalcogen Bonding: Experimental and Theoretical Determinations from Electron Density Analysis. Geometrical Preferences Driven by Electrophilic-Nucleophilic Interactions. Brezgunova et al., Cryst. Growth & Design, 13 (2013), 3283-3289.

L’analyse topologique du Laplacien de la distribution électronique ∇2ρ(r) montre que l’orientation moléculaire est dirigé par les interactions entre les sites électrophile et nucléophile des couches externes des atomes impliqués dans les interactions intermoléculaires. En effet, cette analyse indique que l’orientation relative de trois molécules chalcogénées qui sont assemblées dans la phase cristalline par des interactions faibles est induite par les directions de trois interactions électrostatiques électrophile-nucléophile, qui s’observent parallèles aux directions internucléaires.

cryst-eng14Charge Density Analysis and Topological Properties of Hal3‑Synthons and Their Comparison with Competing Hydrogen Bonds. Brezgunova et al., Cryst. Growth & Design, 12 (2012), 5337-5386.

Des trimères formés par des liaisons halogène (synthons Hal3) ont été étudiés et comparés à des liaisons hydrogène. Les différences principales entre les synthons Cl3 et Br3 se situent dans la région de concentration de charge de la couche des électrons de valence des atomes Cl et Br. Les interactions électrophile-nucléophile ont lieu dans les régions intermoléculaires des synthons-Hal3, en mettant face-à-face des régions de dilution charge (CD) et de concentration de charge (CC) appartenant à la couche de valence des atomes d’halogène. L‘intensité de l’interaction électrostatique CD…CC est déterminée par la puissance électrophile et nucléophile de ces régions et elle est caractérisée par les valeurs L(r) = -∇2ρ(r) normalisées à l’unité de densité de charge (L/ρ) aux points critiques (CP) de la topologie de la fonction L(r). Selon les propriétés topologiques et énergétiques aux CP des fonctions ρ(r) et L(r), les synthons Hal3 peuvent rivaliser avec succès avec les liaisons hydrogène intermoléculaires dans les structures analysées.

 

Effet de l’environnement cristallin sur l’intensité et la nature des interactions intermoléculaires.

cryst-eng7Cocrystal or Salt: Solid State-Controlled Iodine Shift in Crystalline Halogen-Bonded Systems. Makhotkina et al., Cryst. Growth & Design, 15 (2015), 3464-3473.

Dans la phase cristalline toute interaction intermoléculaire est modulée à travers le champ électrique cristallin qui génère l’environnement moléculaire. Cet effet peut s’avérer essentiel dans la modification de la nature même de l’interaction, permettant à un système moléculaire de migrer depuis un état neutre (co-cristal) vers un état ionique (sel). Alors que, dans ce cadre, le transfert d’un proton est impliqué dans les réactions acide-base ayant lieu au sein des solides moléculaires, cette étude montre pour la première fois que le même effet peut s’obtenir avec le transfert d’un atome d’halogène.

cryst-eng8Stabilization of polyiodide chains via anion⋯anion interactions: experiment and theory. Lamberts et al., CrystEngComm, 18 (2016), 3832–3841.

Dans la structure cristalline du tyrosinium polyiodure hydrate, les cations et les anions s’agrègent en couches. La partie anionique de la structure se compose de brins parallèles et infinis de polyiodures; les distances observées le long de ces chaînes suggère la présence de sous-unités plus petites I3, I2 et I. Une analyse approfondie réalisée à partir de la topologie de la fonction L = -∇2ρ indique la disposition successive de sites de concentration de charge et des sites de dilution de charge généralisées (dans des régions où L > 0 ou L < 0) le long des chemins de liaison, et permet de distinguer les iodures des atomes d’iode, même quand ils sont impliqués dans des situations intermédiaires où les distances interatomiques et charges nettes ne sont pas concluants.

 

Ingénierie Cristalline appliquée à la Science de Matériaux : Le contrôle des propriétés électroniques de composés à transfert de charge par le contrôle de l’intensité de la liaison halogène entre cations et anions.

cryst-eng6Charge-Assisted Halogen Bonding: Donor-Acceptor Complexes with Variable Ionicity.
Lieffrig et al., Chem. Eur. J., 19 (2013), 14804–14813.

A partir des études structurales et électroniques réalisées sur une série de complexes à transfert de charge iso-structuraux, il a été mise en évidence que le dégrée de transfert de charge et la modulation de l’intensité de la liaison halogène assurant l’assemblage sont corrélés. Dans le contexte de l’Ingénierie Cristalline appliquée à la Science de Matériaux, cette corrélation montre que le contrôle de l’intensité de l’interaction permet celui des propriétés électroniques de matériaux constitués par ces complexes.   

 

Influence de l’environnement moléculaire sur les propriétés de solides cristallins de APIs (Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients).

cryst-eng9Influence of the crystal environment on the molecular properties of ketoprofene. Ben Nasr et al., in preparation.

Le kétoprofène est un anti-inflammatoire qui présente une très faible solubilité dans l’eau, ce qui limite sa biodisponibilité. Le design et les mesures de solubilité de divers sels de kétoprofène, et notamment du ketoprofène racémique-trométamol et des deux polymorphes de S-kétoprofène-trométamol, confirment que ces derniers ont des solubilités très améliorées par rapport aux principes actifs purs. Les structures de ces sels ont montré qu’ils sont formés par des couches anioniques de kétoprofènates entre lesquelles s’insèrent des couches cationiques. L’étude de l’épaisseur des couches anioniques, ainsi que de la surface et du volume occupés par un anion kétoprofènate dans une couche, indique des variations significatives entre les sels analysés.

 

Le paradoxe des agrégats anioniques et cationiques : Un problème électrostatique expliqué à partir des interactions électrophile…nucléophile.

cryst-eng10Electrostatics at the Origin of the Stability of Phosphate-Phosphate Complexes Locked by Hydrogen Bonds. Mata et al., ChemPhysChem, 13 (2012), 1421–1424.

L’interaction phosphate-phosphate présente une stabilité intrinsèque grâce à la formation de liaisons hydrogène qui impliquent un partage de charge important. Les interactions électrostatiques associés à ces liaisons hydrogène sont à l’origine de la stabilité du complexe. La grande barrière énergétique observée dans la surface d’énergie potentielle du complexe (H2PO4)2 suggère un rôle important des liaisons hydrogène inter-anioniques dans les processus d’agrégation de phosphates. Ainsi, une fois créés, les complexes peuvent être stables et susceptibles de résister aux changements induits par l’environnement, soit en solution, soit en phase solide.

 

cryst-eng11Tracing environment effects that influence the stability of anion–anion complexes: The case of phosphate–phosphate interactions. Mata et al., Chemical Physics Letters, 555 (2013), 106–109.

L’effet de l’environnement a été étudié sur la stabilité des dimères (H3PO4)2, (H2PO4)2, and (HPO42-)2 qui sont assemblés par des liaisons hydrogène. Les analyses topologiques de la densité électronique et du potentiel électrostatique indiquent que l’environnement a peu d’effet sur les liaisons hydrogène, alors qu’il induit un effet significatif sur la répulsion coulombienne des dimères anioniques. L’énergie d’interaction peut se décrire en deux contributions, l’une incluant et l’autre excluant les liaisons hydrogène. Seulement ces dernières sont affectées par la charge ou l’environnement. Alors que la contribution qui exclue la liaison hydrogène domine l’énergie d’interaction dans le phase gaz, elle est compensée dans un environnement polarisable.

 

cryst-eng12The Paradox of Hydrogen-Bonded Anion−Anion Aggregates in Oxoanions: A Fundamental Electrostatic Problem Explained in Terms of Electrophilic···Nucleophilic Interactions. Mata et al., J. Phys. Chem. A, 119 (2015), 183-194.

L’étude de complexes anioniques formés par deux oxoacides partiellement déprotonés et assemblés par des liaisons hydrogène a montré que, malgré la répulsion ionique, des minima locales énergétiques se retrouvent à la fois en phase gaz et en solution aqueuse. Les topologies du potentiel électrostatique et de la densité électronique, ainsi que la comparaison avec les complexes neutres formés par les oxoacides, révèlent que l’ionisation n’a pas d’effet significatif sur les propriétés des liaisons hydrogène. La stabilité des complexes en phase gazeuse s’explique par des forces d’attraction localisées dans un volume situé dans la région de la liaison hydrogène. Cette région est définie comme étant la région d’attraction électrostatique (EAR) et elle est déterminée à partir des analyses topologiques de la densité électronique et du potentiel électrostatique et des lignes de champ électrique. En solution, la forte répulsion anionique est écranté par l’effet d’un solvant polaire environnant, qui que ne conduit qu’à une faible déstabilisation de la liaison hydrogène et favorise la stabilité globale des complexes.

 

 

 

cryst-eng13Charged versus Neutral Hydrogen-Bonded Complexes: Is There a Difference in the Nature of the Hydrogen Bonds? Alkorta et al., Chemistry a European Journal, 22 (2016), 9226-9234.

L’étude réalisé sur des dimères d’acides carboxyliques formés par des molécules chargées positivement ou négativement (+ 2e ou -2e), ainsi que sur les complexes neutres correspondants, indique qu’il n’y a pas de différences significatives entre eux. L’énergie d’interaction le long du chemin de dissociation des dimères chargés montre à la fois un minimum local et un maximum local, définissant une région de stabilité entre les deux. Lorsque ce profil énergétique est recalculé en supprimant la répulsion entre les groupes chargés, il ressemble à ceux des molécules neutres. La méthode des atomes quantiques en interaction (IQA) montre des interactions électrostatiques répulsives lorsque les molécules entières sont considérées dans les complexes ioniques, mais attractives entre les groupes carboxyliques dans les complexes neutres et ioniques.